Clio Trophy Belgium, Clio Trophy Canarias and Clio Trophy Spain came to a close in an action-packed weekend as the Clio Cups head to Barcelona for the 2022 season finale!

Clio Trophy Spain

Rallye La Nucía hosted the final round of Clio Trophy Spain, where six crews were in contention for the title on the abrasive roads of Alicante. Winners of the penultimate round a month ago, Miguel García and Osel Román dominated the proceedings to claim victory and the crown. Sergio López - Gema Sánchez and Nicolás Cabanes - Javier Moltó completed the podium after the other title contenders encountered problems. Jorge Cagiao and Amelia Blanco, winners of the first two editions of the trophy, finished seventh overall to score their fifth two-wheel drive success of the year with the Renault Recalvi Rally Team’s Clio Rally4.

More information here.

Clio Trophy Canarias

Winner of the first four rounds of the calendar, Alejandro Martín ran the table on Rallye Villa de Teror to complete his dominance of this inaugural season of the Clio Trophy Canarias. Co-driven by Daniel Rosario, the Canarian preserved his invincibility by winning ahead of the Challengers Sebastián Gil - Adrián Gil and Manuel Hernández - David Bethancourt in a podium mirrorring the final general classification. Alejandro Martín also finished in the overall top ten thanks to his impressive performance.

More information here.

Clio Trophy Belgium

Benoit Verlinde and Anton Dupan, who had already secured the Clio Trophy Belgium title, wanted a fourth victory to celebrate this season at Rallye du Condroz-Huy, but they met resistance from local driver Pierre-Manuel Brasseur and his co-driver Antoine Podgorny. After his rival retired on Friday evening, Pierre-Manuel Brasseur maintained a healthy lead and kept his cool on Saturday to score his first win in the trophy ahead of Jeroen Catelin - Christof Duyck and Lander Depotter - Willem Verbeke.

On the Walloon roads, the duel between the Clio Rally4s of Gilles Pyck - Émile Mourisse and Tom Rensonnet - Loïc Dumont also continued at the sharp end of the Junior Belgian Rally Championship. This time the latter took the lead while their opponents finally settled for seventh place, setting the scene for a suspenseful finale between the two crews on the Spa Rally (3-4 December).

The Clio Trophy Belgium teams would also like to express their deepest sympathy to the families of the victims after the accident that occurred on the rally’s penultimate stage.

More information here.


In the French Rally Cup, Clio Rally4 and Clio Rally5 won on the Rallye de l’Indre with Thomas Bordagaray - Antoine Loiseau and Florian Bartaire - Marjolaine Patier, but also on the Rallye des Côtes du Tarn with Romain Favreau - Laurie Cabrol and Damien Vaissière - Sébastien Romero. Meanwhile, Thomas Santiago and Matthieu Duval led a one-two-three for Clio Rally5 at the Rallye des Noix de Firminy.

The Romanian duo of Catherine Radulescu and Bogdan Minea also won its class while finishing third in the ERT4 (FIA European Rally Trophy) with their Clio Rally5 on the Lausitz Rally (Germany). Jan Jørgensen and Vagn Åge Hansen led Clio Rally5 to victory in RC5 on Rally Stoholm (Denmark), as did Marek Lacika and Tomáš Šmíd on Rally Kroměříž (Czech Republic).

The Italian Rally Cup finale also saw Clio Rally5 dominate its class with Matteo Doretto and Massimo Falomo on Rally del Lazio. Lastly, Arnaldo Borghi and Stefano Zanni led a class hat-trick for Clio Rally5 at the Halloween Ronde (San Marino), where Clio Rally4 finished on the podium with Davide Gianaroli and Antonio Gianaroli.

Coming up

This week, Quentin Ribaud, Mélissa Declerck and Fun Meca Sport will conclude their official Clio Rally4 programme in the FFSA French Gravel Rally Championship at the Rallye Terre de Vaucluse (11-13 November). The Clio Trophy Turkey will also draw to a close at the Istanbul Rallisi (12-14 November), where Tuncer Sancakli will arrive atop the general classification but under threat from Nebil Erbil and Menderes Okur in the title race.

Meanwhile, Clio Cup Europe, Clio Cup Spain and Clio Cup Italia will meet at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya (11-13 November) for the final meeting of the Clio Cup Series calendar. With six drivers’ and three teams’ crowns at stake, this last round of 2022 will feature a field of 50 cars.